Shh….sharing good news…

Monday was my 3 month scan day and Tuesday I was back in the chemo room for # 65 treatment and a doctor’s appointment.   I’m so thankful to report that my scan showed No Evidence of Disease.  I never take this for granted and realize how incredibly lucky I am.  In fact, my doctor (who has been a gyn oncologist for a long time) told me I have been NED on this drug (avastin) longer than any patient he has had.  Typically, once ovarian cancer recurs it is not curable and the periods of time before it returns gets shorter and shorter.  My cancer recurred in 2009 and all scans have been NED since I completed 8 cycles of carbo, taxol, and avastin, and then continued on the avastin.  Sometimes friends ask how much longer I will be on avastin and the answer is for as long as it keeps the cancer away.

I must admit I do struggle with sharing good news and frequently don’t do it.   I always think of the many brave survivors I know that have not been as fortunate.  I know they are thrilled for me and we all rejoice in any good news for each other.  However, it just seems so unfair and I wish so much that we could all shout victory from the mountain top!

I’d really love to hear your thoughts and advice on this,

Patsy

6 Comments

  1. Belinda Stevens

    Patsy that is wonderful news!!!!! Congratulations!!!!! I know how you feel because I have also felt the same way in the past with good news when others are going through so much. However I have sinced realized that it is sooooo very important for me, as a survivor back in treatment, to hear ALL of the good news!!! GOOD NEWS gives me additional strength. Plus it is so great to hear that someone you care about is doing well. And I do care about you! Belinda

    Like

  2. Terrific! I am on Avastin + everolimus/placebo now for my second recurrence and have my first CT scan next week since I started this clinical trial. I was counting last night the number of infusions I have had and it is just over 30 so I am a piker compared to you. Do you have side effects? (you can PM me on FB if you would prefer)

    Like

  3. Ruth D

    I am so pleased — your continued existance gives me hope that I also might remain NED for a long time. Guilt, for me, is part of survival and I mourn those we have lost. Also, your Avastin experience helps me go on because we all worry about recurrance.

    Like

  4. Becky alrubaiie

    Woo hoo excellent news Patsy. I fully understand your feelings inspite of just finishing chemo for my 2 nd recurrence. So happy for you. Xoxo

    Like

  5. Patsy,
    You must continue to share all your good news because we all need to celebrate the successes of certain drugs. Avastin is keeping your cancer stabilized. It did not work for me but at least having been in the clinical trial my results may help to guide the ongoing research. Here’s to your future years with NED!

    Like

  6. Willamina Sugg

    Great News, Patsy.
    I was reading about Ann Hartline from your blog link. She has done so much. Didn’t see a post after 2011.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Two Sleevers

High Protein, Low Carb Recipes for Better Health

The Musings of a Cancer Research Advocate

It's All About the Evidence...

dionneweb

EVEN if...

helenfawkes

living with cancer

Emma's fight against MDS

My battle against the blood cancer MDS

ketorach

A Keto Lover in a Carb Driven World

PippiLaroo

Embracing the Thirties Life Crisis

Heart of a Country Home

Southern and Low Carb Recipes from a Country Kitchen

My Table of Three

Pull up a chair and grab a cup of coffee while we share some good recipes, laughs and more!

She Calls Me Hobbit

It's Low Carb, High Fat...not Lousy Cooking, Horrible Flavor. Hobbit and Keto Iron Chef have joined forces!

You Season With Love

Exploring a mostly whole foods, mostly allergen free diet

Health as a Human Right

Discussing a Broad Range of Health Topics

This Life I Live

scenes from one man's extraordinary, ordinary life

My Eyes Are Up Here

My life is not just about my chest, despite rumblings in my chest.

Sunrise Rounds

Through the Eyes of a Medical Oncologist

