Being K’s Voice

This post is dedicated to my new friend, K.  I met K. at a recent ovarian cancer event.  She is an absolutely beautiful young woman and as sweet as can be.  K. is only 28 years old and has been diagnosed with stage III ovarian cancer.  I have thought about her so much since we met.  My heart breaks for her and her sweet husband.  I remember too well what it was like to be given the “you have advanced cancer” news.  I really cannot come close to understanding what this would mean for a women that is 28 years old just beginning her life with her chosen guy.  I am certain K. is much more mature than I was at that age.  Even so, I have had years to learn about life, make mistakes (and hopefully learn from them), decide what kind of person I want to be to be, and experience life, in general.  K. has not had these years.  I so hope that she feels the arms of all her ovarian cancer sisters enfolding her and knows I am here for her.

So, this past week I thought of K. so much while in D.C. We absolutely must find a cure for this terrible cancer. I have chosen to take an active role in my mission to wipe out ovarian cancer.  I had the unique opportunity to sit with scientists, biostatisticians, doctors, researchers, and another consumer reviewer as a consumer reviewer on a panel.  I was honored to be nominated by the FORCE (www.facingourrisk.org) organization. FORCE is the only nonprofit organization dedicated to hereditary ovarian and breast cancers.  Check it out if you have not.  It is a wealth of information for survivors and previvors.  It is truly amazing the amount of work they do and I am proud to be a part of the volunteer organization.  Back to being a consumer reviewer… my role was to serve as a voice for women diagnosed with ovarian cancer..  Annie, the other consumer reviewer, was my experienced mentor and she was fantastic!!   I wish I could share specifics with you about the reviews; however, the information is very confidential in order to keep the process fair.  If you’d like to learn more being a consumer reviewer, go to http://cdmrp.army.mil/ocrp/default.shtml.  The exciting part about being involved in this process was to witness firsthand how my efforts and those of others plays out.  Each year many of us go to Capitol Hill and meet with our Congress representatives and plead with them to support specific bills to help us kick the heck out of the cancer beast.  It was so cool to see the results of our hard work.  So, please remember to tell your congressman or woman to please support these efforts…and remember K. and many others depend on you.  See you on the HIll…

Patsy

1 Comment

  1. Beth Haney

    Patsy, what a great, informative blog you have! You do so much good work for so many people. I can’t see you tossing your hat into the political ring, but I’m so impressed with your involvement on the D.C.committee. You go, gal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Grieve Well

Evidence-Based Bereavement Grief Coping Strategies. Scientific research has identified many behaviors and attitudes that can help reduce the severity and duration of grieving symptoms.

Two Sleevers

High Protein, Low Carb Recipes for Better Health

The Musings of a Cancer Research Advocate

It's All About the Evidence...

dionneweb

EVEN if...

helenfawkes

living with cancer

Emma's fight against MDS

My battle against the blood cancer MDS

ketorach

A Keto Lover in a Carb Driven World

PippiLaroo

Embracing the Thirties Life Crisis

Heart of a Country Home

Southern and Low Carb Recipes from a Country Kitchen

My Table of Three

Pull up a chair and grab a cup of coffee while we share some good recipes, laughs and more!

She Calls Me Hobbit

It's Low Carb, High Fat...not Lousy Cooking, Horrible Flavor. Hobbit and Keto Iron Chef have joined forces!

You Season With Love

Exploring a mostly whole foods, mostly allergen free diet

Health as a Human Right

Discussing a Broad Range of Health Topics

This Life I Live

scenes from one man's extraordinary, ordinary life

My Eyes Are Up Here

My life is not just about my chest, despite rumblings to the contrary.

