When sadness is the right message…

Greetings to you all! I hope you had a wonderful summer filled with peace, fun and whatever fills your soul. I could describe my summer in many ways. It has been filled with trips and fun, but I think in reflecting back on it I am proudest to say it was the summer I needed and strived hard to accomplish. Yes, it has been too long since I have posted. I have been so touched by those of you that have inquired as to how I am doing. Thank you for caring. I am continuing to do well.  I am so honored that you continue to choose to spend time reading my blog.  I was recently informed  that my blog was selected as one of the best cancer blogs.  I was, to say the least, surprised and very honored.  Go to blog.delimmune.com to check out the blogs selected.

We have had a busy month with events since this is “our cancer” month.  Fortunately, we have had lots of success, especially with getting our message out.  We recently held our annual Teal Tea Party and Stiletto Sprint.  I am so proud of the volunteers involved in both these events because they chose to represent the real side of cancer, not just the “rah-rah side.”  I hear too many survivors with metastatic cancer say they are not welcomed to participate at some events because they do not represent the “cured” crowd.  In my opinion, this is so sad and so wrong on so many levels. This year I had the privilege of being on the Z team at the sprint.  This team was established by my friend, Phyllis.  Phyllis was asked to represent survivors in a TV interview and the day of the interview she was informed by her doctor that he recommended she enter hospice, as there was no more treatment available to try.  Phyllis, in her usual spunky style, insisted that the interview carry on.  The day of the event she kicked the sprint off in her wheelchair and the announcer shared her story.

This month I have lost too many friends.  Funerals have become way too often something I attend.  For me, this true message at events represents the true support that cancer survivors need.  Not “just have a positive attitude,  “you can fight this” , “be strong for those that love you” kinda crap.  The affirmation that survivors need and deserve is for others to know the reality of the disease and to open their wallets to give $$ to cure it.  I’m proud to be a part of a community that did both of these for me and others….thank you, supporters.

Patsy

image

image

2 Comments

  1. Mary Brown

    Well said! Thank you!

    Like

  2. Elaine Newell

    Having been a survivor, I have nothing but awe for all of you still fighting this. God Bless you all. Thank you, Patsy, for sharing this
    .

    Like

Leave a Reply

Two Sleevers

High Protein, Low Carb Recipes for Better Health

The Musings of a Cancer Research Advocate

It's All About the Evidence...

dionneweb

EVEN if...

helenfawkes

living with cancer

Emma's fight against MDS

My battle against the blood cancer MDS

ketorach

A Keto Lover in a Carb Driven World

PippiLaroo

Embracing the Thirties Life Crisis

Heart of a Country Home

Southern and Low Carb Recipes from a Country Kitchen

My Table of Three

Pull up a chair and grab a cup of coffee while we share some good recipes, laughs and more!

She Calls Me Hobbit

It's Low Carb, High Fat...not Lousy Cooking, Horrible Flavor. Hobbit and Keto Iron Chef have joined forces!

You Season With Love

Exploring a mostly whole foods, mostly allergen free diet

Health as a Human Right

Discussing a Broad Range of Health Topics

This Life I Live

scenes from one man's extraordinary, ordinary life

My Eyes Are Up Here

My life is not just about my chest, despite rumblings in my chest.

Sunrise Rounds

Through the Eyes of a Medical Oncologist

